Commissioner Ann Marie Buerkle Accounced as Acting Chair of the CPSC

Commissioner Ann Marie Buerkle will serve as Acting Chair of the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). Commissioner Buerkle appointed in 2013, replaces Elliot Kaye in the Chair role.  Commissioner Kaye will continue serving on the Commission which still leans Democratic three seats to two.  So what should the consumer product industry expect out of the acting Chair? We know from her prior statements and votes that she was critical of the increased civil penalties which were becoming the norm, and favors working with the business community to prevent violations in the first instance.  Of course at this juncture Commissioner Buerkle is still considered only the acting Chair. She will need to be nominated by President Trump and her name is being floated as a likely candidate for the permanent Chair position.